Current Affairs March 2017 - Committees


News 1 - Sports Ministry to form committee to resolve grievances of women sports persons

Sports Ministry

The Sports Ministry decided to constitute a highlevel committee to resolve the grievances and complaints of women sports persons in India. The committee under the Chairmanship of the Joint Secretary Sports will comprise Athletes, Advocate, Senior Officer of MYAS and Sports Journalist – All Women.

Women athletes, if they will have any complaint can approach the committee for their grievance redressal. Sports Authority of India in its Special Area Game Scheme has provided training to 807 women sports persons out of total 1862 sports persons.

News 2 - Madhukar Gupta Committee Report

Madhukar Gupta

The Committee constituted under the Chairmanship of Shri Madhukar Gupta, has submitted its report to the Government to strengthen the border protection and address vulnerabilities in fencing along the Indo-Pakistan border.

The Committee has given its recommendations broadly on the issues of Threats and Border Protection, assessment of force level, deployment on the border, infrastructure and technology issues for protection of border and administrative issues. It has been decided to initiate action considering the recommendations of the Committee in consultation with the stakeholders.

News 3 - Mallikarjun Kharge becomes next PAC Chairman

Mallikarjun Kharge

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Mallikarjun Kharge has been nominated to become the next Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC). He will succeed his party colleague K.V. Thomas who is completing three terms in the post and will take charge from May 1.

The PAC has 22 members — 15 Lok Sabha and seven Rajya Sabha. The committee is reconstituted every year. The chair of the PAC is given to an MP of the main Opposition party.

News 4 - High level committee to examine working of CCIM, CCH


A Committee under the Chairmanship of Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog has been set up to examine the working of the regulatory bodies namely, Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM) and Central Council of Homoeopathy(CCH) and their governing legislations namely, Indian Medicine Central Council Act 1970 and Homoeopathy Central Council Act 1973 respectively, for suggesting suitable reforms.

The members of the committee include:

  • Additional Principal Secretary to Prime Minister.
  • Chief Executive Officer (CEO), NITI Aayog.
  • Secretary, Ministry of AYUSH.

News 5 - Cabinet approved the setting up of a National Commission for socially & Educationally Backward Classes as a Constitutional Body

Cabinet approved

The Union Cabinet has approved the setting up of a National Commission for Socially and Educationally Backward Classes, NSEBC as a constitutional body. The Commission will comprise of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson and three other members.

The Cabinet has also repealed the National Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993 and dissolved the body that was constituted under it. The move follows demands for constitutional status for the National Commission for Backward Classes to allow it to hear the grievances of OBCs.